Prescription Drug Patents: Balancing Innovation, Access, and Affordability

 

Speakers

Priti Krishtel I-MAK, Co-Founder and Co-Executive Director
priti@i-mak.org
Genia Long Analysis Group, Senior Advisor
genia.long@analysisgroup.com
Ed Silverman STAT, Pharmalot Columnist
ed.silverman@statnews.com

 

Experts and analysts

Joseph Antos American Enterprise Institute, Wilson H. Taylor Scholar in Health Care and Retirement Policy
jantos@aei.org   202-862-5983
Peter Barton Hutt Covington & Burling LLP, Senior Counsel; Harvard Law School, Lecturer on Food and Drug Law
phutt@cov.com   202-662-5522
Michael A. Carrier Rutgers Law School, Distinguished Professor of Law; Rutgers Institute for Information Policy and Law, Co-Director
mcarrier@camlaw.rutgers.edu   856-225-6380
Rena Conti Boston University Institute for Health System Innovation & Policy, Associate Research Director of Biopharma & Public Policy
rconti@bu.edu
Henry G. Grabowski Duke University, Professor Emeritus of Economics
grabow@econ.duke.edu
Doug Holtz-Eakin American Action Forum, President
dholtzeakin@americanactionforum.org
Ameet Sarpatwari Harvard Medical School, Instructor in Medicine; Brigham Women’s Hospital, Assistant Director of the Program on Regulation, Therapeutics, and Law in the Division of Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacoeconomics in the Department of Medicine
asarpatwari@bwh.harvard.edu
Jeremy Sharp Waxman Strategies, Senior Vice President
jeremy@waxmanstrategies.com   202-684-8237  

 

Government

Anna Abram Food and Drug Administration, Deputy Commissioner for Policy, Planning, Legislation and Analysis
anna.abram@fda.hhs.gov
Elizabeth Jex Federal Trade Commission, Attorney Advisor for the Office of Policy Planning
ejex@ftc.gov

 

Stakeholders

Lauren Aronson Campaign for Sustainable Rx Pricing, Executive Director
laronson@mc-dc.com   202-585-0255
Andrew Barnhill GlaxoSmithKline, Director of Federal Policy and HHS Strategy
andrew.t.barnhill@gsk.com
Kristin Bass Pharmaceutical Care Management Association, Chief Policy and External Affairs Officer
kbass@pcmanet.org   202-756-5700
Adam J. Fein Drug Channels Institute, Chief Executive Officer
afein@pembrokeconsulting.com   215-523-5700
Jennifer Jones Blue Cross Blue Shield Association, Legislative and Regulatory Policy Director
jennifer.jones@bcbsa.com
Erik Komendant Association for Accessible Medicines, Vice President of Federal Affairs Erik.Komendant@accessiblemeds.org
David Mitchell Patients for Affordable Drugs, President and Founder david@patientsforaffordabledrugs.org
Leigh Purvis AARP Health Policy Institute, Director of Health Services Research
lpurvis@aarp.org   202-434-3890
Andrew Rosenberg The Biosimilars Forum, Executive Director arosenberg@thornrun.com   202-688-0223
Sylvia Trujillo American Medical Association, Senior Washington Counsel

slyvia.trujillo@ama-assn.org   202-789-7481

Polly Webster Kaiser Permanente, Senior Policy Advisor

polly.f.webster@kp.org

Tom Wilbur Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America, Director of Public Affairs
twilbur@phrma.org   202-835-3400

 

The Alliance for Health Policy gratefully acknowledges the support of the National Institute of Health Care Management (NIHCM) Foundation and the Association of Health Care Journalists (AHCJ) for this event.