Addressing the Drivers of Maternal Mortality

Speakers

Shanna Cox Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Associate Director of Science of the Division of Reproductive Health

cio8@cdc.gov

Eugene Declercq Boston University School of Public Health, Professor and Assistant Dean for DrPH Education in the Community Health Sciences Department; Boston University School of Medicine, Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

declercq@bu.edu

Elizabeth A. Howell Mount Sinai Health System, Director of the Icahn School of Medicine Blavatnik Family Women’s Health Research Institute

elizabeth.howell@mountsinai.org  

Jennie Joseph Commonsense Childbirth Inc., Executive Director

jennie@commonsensechildbirth.org

Laurie Zephyrin

 

The Commonwealth Fund, Vice President of Delivery System Reform

lz@cmwf.org    212-606-3800

 

 

Experts and Analysts

Cynthia Gyamfi-Bannerman Columbia University Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Associate Clinical Professor in Maternal-Fetal Medicine

cg2231@cumc.columbia.edu

Peiyin Hung University of South Carolina’s Arnold School of Public Health, Assistant Professor of Health Services Policy and Management

hungp@mailbox.sc.edu   803-777-9867

Katy B. Kozhimannil University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Associate Professor in the Division of Health Policy

kbk@umn.edu

Michael Lu University of California, Berkeley School of Public Health, Dean; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Former Director of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau

sph-dean@berkeley.edu

Elliott Main California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, Medical Director

emain@stanford.edu   650-725-6108

Kimberlee McKay Avera Health, Clinical Vice President of OB/GYN Service Line

kimberlee.mckay@avera.org   605-322-8920

Alina Salganicoff Kaiser Family Foundation, Vice President and Director of Women’s Health Policy

AlinaS@kff.org

 

 

Government

Janine A. Clayton National Institutes of Health, Director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health

janine.clayton@nih.gov   301-402-1770

Cara V. James Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Director of the Office of Minority Health

Cara.James@cms.hhs.gov   410-786-6842

Jean Howe Indian Health Service, Chief Clinical Consultant for Obstetrics and Gynecology

jean.howe@ihs.gov   505-368-7068

Laura Kavanagh Health Resources and Services Administration, Deputy Associate Administrator of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau

laura.kavanagh@hrsa.hhs.gov   301-443-2170

Kamila B. Mistry Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Deputy Director of the Office of Extramural Research, Education, and Priority Populations  kamila.mistry@ahrq.hhs.gov   301-427-1012
Melanie Rouse

 

Virginia Department of Health, Maternal Mortality Projects Coordinator in the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner

Melanie.Rouse@vdh.virginia.gov   804-205-3857

 

 

Stakeholders

Katherine Barrett March for Moms, Founding Executive Director

katie@marchformoms.org

Robyn Begley American Organization for Nursing Leadership, Chief Executive Officer; American Hospital Association, Senior Vice President and Chief

Nursing Officer

rbegley@aha.org   312-422-2824

Alicia Belay March of Dimes, Director of Maternal Child and Health and Government Affairs

ABelay@marchofdimes.org

Jay Bhatt American Hospital Association, Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer

jbhatt@aha.org   312-422-2622

Andria Cornell Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs, Associate Director of Women’s and Infant Health

acornell@amchp.org   202-266-3043

Joia Crear-Perry National Birth Equity Collaborative, Founder and President

drjoia@birthequity.org

Jill Duncan Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Executive Director of Maternal Health Projects

jduncan@ihi.org   617-301-4800

Shari Erickson American College of Physicians, Vice President of Governmental Affairs and Medical Practice

serickson@acponline.org   215-351-2400

Connie Hwang Alliance of Community Health Plans, Chief Medical Officer and Director of Clinical Innovation

chwang@achp.org    202-524-7780

Amy Kohl American College of Nurse-Midwives, Director of Advocacy and Government Affairs

akohl@acnm.org   240-485-1806

Christi Mackie Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, Chief of Community Health and Prevention

cmackie@astho.org   571-527-3145

Rachel Tetlow American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Director of Federal Affairs

rtetlow@acog.org   202-863-2534

Angie Truesdale Centering Healthcare Institute, Chief Executive Officer

857-284-7570 ext 103

Sara van Geertruyden

 

Partnership to Improve Patient Care, Executive Director

sara@pipcpatients.org