Expert List: Medicaid & CHIP

The Alliance continuously updates our expert lists on key topics in health policy.

We are also happy to assist journalists who are seeking an expert on a specific topic. Reporters and editors should call the Alliance at 202/789-2300 or email us at info@allhealthpolicy.org for help finding an expert.


Joan Alker, executive director, Georgetown University Center for Children and Families, 202-784-4075, jca25@georgetown.edu

Samantha Artiga, associate director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Deborah Bachrach, partner, Manatt Health Solutions, 212-790-4594, dbachrach@manatt.com

Lynn Blewett, director, State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC), University of Minnesota, 612/626-4739, blewe001@umn.edu

Tom Bradley, chief, Health Systems and Medicare Cost Estimates Unit, Congressional Budget Office, 202/226-9010, tom.bradley@cbo.gov

James Capretta, resident fellow and Milton Friedman chair, American Enterprise Insititute, jcapretta@aei.org

Teresa Coughlin, senior fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Lisa Dubay, senior fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Tim Engelhardt, deputy director, Federal Coordinated Health Care Office, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Department of Health and Human Services, 202/690-6277, Tim.Engelhardt@cms.hhs.gov

Charlene Frizzera, chief executive officer, CF Health Advisors, 443/794-4379, cfrizzera@cfhealthadvisors.com

Rachel Garfield, associate director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Darin Gordon, founding partner, Speire Healthcare Strategies, 615-386-7061, darin@speirehcs.com

Dan Hawkins, senior vice president for public policy and research, National Association of Community Health Centers, 202/296-3800, dhawkins@nachc.org

Ian Hill, senior fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Heather Howard, director of advancing coverage in states and state health and value strategies, Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 609/258-9709, heatherh@princeton.edu

Katherine Iritani, Government Accountability Office, 206-287-4820, iritanik@gao.gov

Frederick Isasi, executive director, Families USA, 202-628-3030, press@familiesusa.org

Jim Kaufman, vice president for public policy, Children’s Hospital Association, 202/753-5336, jkaufman@childrenshospitals.org

Genevieve Kenney, codirector, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Sharon Long, senior fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Barbara Lyons, director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270, blyons@kff.org

Dee Mahan, Medicaid program director, Families USA, 202-434-3889, dmahan@familiesusa.org

Cindy Mann, partner, Manatt Health Solutions, 202-585-6572, cmann@manatt.com

Enrique Martinez-Vidal, deputy director, State Coverage Initiatives Program, AcademyHealth, 202/204-7509, enrique.martinez-vidal@academyhealth.org

John McCarthy, founding partner, Speire Healthcare Strategies, 615-386-7061, john@speirehcs.com

Mark McClellan, director, Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy, Duke University, 202-621-2817, mark.mcclellan@duke.edu

Meg Murray, CEO, Association for Community Affiliated Plans, 202-204-7509, mmurray@communityplans.net

MaryBeth Musumeci, associate director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Jeff Myers, president and CEO, Medicaid Health Plans of America, 202-857-5731, jmyers@mhpa.org

Rachel Nuzum, vice president, federal and state health policy, The Commonwealth Fund, 202/292-6722, rn@cmwf.org

Aimee Ossman, vice president for policy analysis, Children’s Hospital Association, 202/753-5333, aossman@childrenshospitals.org

Julia Paradise, associate director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Edwin Park, vice president for health policy, Center for Budget and Policy Priorities, 202/408-1080, park@cbpp.org

Pamela Riley, assistant vice president, delivery system reform, The Commonwealth Fund, 212/606-3862, pr@cmwf.org

Sara Rosenbaum, professor, Department of Health Policy, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, 202/994-4230, sarar@gwu.edu

Diane Rowland, executive vice president, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270, drowland@kff.org

Robin Rudowitz, associate director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270, rrudowitz@kff.org

Alina Salganicoff, vice president and director, Women’s Health Policy, Kaiser Family Foundation, 650/854-9400

Matt Salo, executive director, National Association of Medicaid Directors, matt.salo@medicaiddirectors.org

Anne Schwartz, executive director, Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 202-350-2000, anne.schwartz@macpac.gov

Judy Solomon, vice president for health policy, Center for Budget and Policy Priorities, 202-408-1080, solomon@cbpp.org

Benjamin Sommers, assistant professor, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 857-540-1126, bsommers@hsph.harvard.edu

Hemi Tewarson, program director, NGA Center for Best Practices, 202-624-7803, htewarson@nga.org

Vicki Wachino, deputy administrator and director, Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, 410-786-3870, victoria.wachino1@cms.hhs.gov

Kelly Whitener, associate research professor, Georgetown University Center for Children and Families, 202-687-0331, kdw29@georgetown.edu

Carolyn Yocom, Government Accountability Office, 202-512-4931, yocomc@gao.gov