Expert List: Medicare

The Alliance continuously updates our expert lists on key topics in health policy.

We are also happy to assist journalists who are seeking an expert on a specific topic. Reporters and editors should call the Alliance at 202/789-2300 or email us at info@allhealthpolicy.org for help finding an expert.


Joseph Antos, Wilson H. Taylor scholar in health care and retirement policy, American Enterprise Institute, 202/862-5938, jantos@aei.org

Robert Berenson, institute fellow, Urban Institute, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Lisa Bielamowicz, chief medical officer, The Advisory Board, 202-266-6340, bielamol@advisory.com

Shawn Bishop, vice president, controlling health care costs and advancing Medicare, The Commonwealth Fund, 202/292-6740, smb@cmwf.org

Cristina Boccuti, associate director, Program on Medicare Policy, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Tom Bradley, chief, Health Systems and Medicare Cost Estimates Unit, Congressional Budget Office, 202/226-9010, tom.bradley@cbo.gov

Randall Brown, director, health research, Mathematica Policy Research, 609/275-2393, Rbrown@mathematica-mpr.com

Craig Burns, vice president, research, America’s Health Insurance Plans, 202/778-8503, cburns@ahip.org

Stuart Butler, senior fellow, The Brookings Institution, 202/238-3183, smbutler@brookings.edu

James Capretta, resident fellow and Milton Friedman chair, American Enterprise Insititute, jcapretta@aei.org

Michael Cannon, director of health policy studies, Cato Institute, 202/789-5200, mcannon@cato.org

Sean Cavanaugh, deputy administrator and director, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 410/786-3350, sean.cavanaugh@cms.hhs.gov

Juliette Cubanski, associate director, Program on Medicare Policy, Kaiser Family Foundation, 650/854-9400

Karen Davis, director, Roger C. Lipitz Center for Intergrated Care, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 410/502-6082, karen.davis@jhu.edu

Judy Feder, fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Marsha Gold, independent consultant, senior fellow emeritus, Mathematica Policy Research, marshargold@gmail.com

Kate Goodrich, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 410-786-6841, kate.goodrich@cms.hhs.gov

Douglas Holtz-Eakin, President, American Action Forum, 202-559-6420, dholtzeakin@americanactionforum.org

Gretchen Jacobson, associate director, Program on Medicare Policy, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Mark McClellan, director, Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy, Duke University, 202-621-2817, mark.mcclellan@duke.edu

Mark Miller, executive director, Medicare Payment Advisory Commission, 202-220-3700, mmiller@medpac.gov

Robert Moffitt, senior fellow, Heritage Foundation, 202/608-6210, Bob.Moffit@heritage.org

Marilyn Moon, institute fellow and director, Center on Aging, American Institutes for Research, 301/592-8600, MMoon@AIR.org

Tricia Neuman, senior vice president, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270, tneuman@kff.org

Leigh Purvis, director, health services research, AARP, 202/360-1681, lpurvis@aarp.org

John Rother, president and CEO, National Coalition on Health Care, 202/638-7151, jrother@nchc.org

Tom Scully, general partner, Welsh Carson Anderson and Stowe, 212/893-9594, thomas.scully@alston.com

Chuck Shih, senior officer, The Pew Charitable Trusts, 202/540-6300, cshih@pewtrusts.org

Judith Stein, executive director, attorney, Center for Medicare Advocacy, 860/456-7790, jstein@medicareadvocacy.org 

Paul Van de Water, senior fellow, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 202/408-1080, vandewater@cbpp.org

Bruce Vladeck, former administrator, Health Care Financing Administration, 917/583-0835, vladeckb@gmail.com

Timothy A. Waidman, senior fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Gail Wilensky, senior fellow, Project HOPE, 301/347-3902, gwilensky@projecthope.org

Stephen Zuckerman, codirector, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org