Expert List: Social Determinants of Health

The Alliance continuously updates our expert lists on key topics in health policy.

We are also happy to assist journalists who are seeking an expert on a specific topic. Reporters and editors should call the Alliance at 202/789-2300 or email us at info@allhealthpolicy.org for help finding an expert.


Melinda Abrams, vice president, delivery system reform, The Commonwealth Fund, 212/606-3831, mka@cmwf.org

Dolores Acevedo-Garcia, director of the Institute for Child, Youth, and Family Policy, Brandeis University, 781/736-3715, dacevedo@brandeis.edu

Laudan Aron, senior fellow, Urban Institute Center on Labor, Human Services, and Population, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Samantha Artiga, associate director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Caroline Battles, vice president, State Advocacy and Community Health, Ascension, 314/733-8650, caroline.battles@ascension.org

Joseph Betancourt, director, The Disparities Solutions Center, Multicultural Affairs Office, Massachusetts General Hospital, 617/724-7658, jbetancourt@partners.org

Paula Braveman, director of the Center on Social Disparities in Health, University of California, San Francisco, 415/476-6839, paula.braveman@ucsf.edu

Stuart Butler, senior fellow, economic studies, The Brookings Institution, 202/238-3183, smbutler@brookings.edu

Lisa Dubay, senior fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Tim Englehardt, director, Medicare-Medicaid Coordination Office, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 202/690-6277, tim.engelhardt@cms.hhs.gov

Sameera Fazili, senior community and economic development visiting advisor, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, 404/498-7304, sameera.fazili@atl.frb.org

Lynda Flowers, senior strategic policy adviser, AARP Public Policy Institute, 202-434-3889, lflowers@aarp.org

David Fukuzawa, managing director, health and human services programs, The Kresge Foundation, 248/643-9630, ddfukuzawa@kresge.org

Deb Gross, deputy director, Council of Large Public Housing Authorities, 202/638-1300, dgross@clpha.org

Dan Hawkins, senior vice president – public policy and research, National Association of Community Health Centers, 202/296-0131, dhawkins@nachc.org

Frederick Isasi, director, Center for Best Practices – Health Division, National Governors Association, 202/624-7872, fisasi@nga.org

Jeffrey Levi, professor, health policy and management, Milken Institute School of Public Health, 202/994-8958, jlevi@gwu.edu

Valerie Lewis, assistant professor, health policy and clinical practice, The Dartmouth Institute, 603/653-0848, valerie.a.lewis@dartmouth.edu

Leandris Liburd, director, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 404/498-2320, leandris.liburd@cdc.hhs.gov

Marsha Lillie-Blanton, senior policy adviser, Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, 410/786-8856, marsha.lillie-blanton@cms.hhs.gov

Steve Lopez, manager, Health Policy Project, National Council of La Raza, 202/785-1670, slopez@nclr.org

Douglas McCarthy, senior research director, The Commonwealth Fund, 970/259-7961, dm@cmwf.org

Meg Murray, chief executive officer, Association for Community Affiliated Plans, 202/204-7509, mmurray@communityplans.net

Anand Parekh, chief medical adviser, Bipartisan Policy Council, 202/204-2400, aparekh@bipartisanpolicy.org

Gary Puckrein, founder and president, National Minority Quality Forum, 202/223-7560, gpuckrein@nmqf.org

Pamela Riley, assistant vice president, delivery system reform, The Commonwealth Fund, 212/606-3862, pr@cmwf.org

Trish Riley, executive director, National Academy for State Health Policy, 202/903-2787, triley@nashp.org

Hector Rodriguez, professor and co-director, School of Public Health, University of California, Berkeley, 510/642-4578, hrod@berkeley.edu

Sara Rosenbaum, professor, Department of Health Policy, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, 202/994-4230, sarar@gwu.edu

Amy Jo Schulz, professor, health behavior & health education, University of Michigan School of Public Health, 734/647-0221, ajschulz@umich.edu

Tanya Shah, senior program officer, delivery system reform, The Commonwealth Fund, 212/606-3856, tbs@cmwf.org

Lauren Taylor, co-author of The American Health Care Paradox; doctoral student, Harvard Business School, 516/662-4201 laurenannetaylor@gmail.com

Gustavo F. Velasquez, assistant secretary for fair housing and equal opportunity, Department of Housing and Urban Development, 202/708-1112

Sunia Zaterman, executive director, Council of Large Public Housing Authorities, 202/638-1300, szaterman@clpha.org