Legislative Outlook – What’s Ahead for Comparative Effectiveness Research?

Speakers

Tanisha Carino FasterCures, Milken Institute, Executive Director

tcarino@fastercures.org   202-336-8900

Anand Parekh Bipartisan Policy Center, Chief Medical Advisor

aparekh@bipartisanpolicy.org   202-204-2400

Sara van Geertruyden Partnership to Improve Patient Care, Executive Director

sara@pipcpatients.org   202-688-0226

Gail R. Wilensky Project HOPE, Senior Fellow

gwilensky@projecthope.org

 

Experts and Analysts

Joseph Antos American Enterprise Institute, Wilson H. Taylor Scholar in Health Care and Retirement Policy

JAntos@aei.org   202-862-5983

Eric B. Bass Johns Hopkins Evidence-based Practice Center, Director

ebass@jhmi.edu

Jeannie Baumann Bloomberg Law, Reporter

jbaumann@bloomberglaw.com

Alfiee M. Breland-Noble

 

Georgetown University Medical Center, Project Director of AAKOMA at the Center for Trauma and the Community

ab2892@georgetown.edu   202-687-4812

John Bulger Geisinger Health Plan, Chief Medical Officer

JBulger@ geisinger.edu

Lisa Cooper Johns Hopkins Medicine, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor

lisa.cooper@jhmi.edu   410-614-3659

Nancy L. Keating

 

Harvard Medical School, Professor of Health Care Policy in the Department of Health Care Policy

keating@hcp.med.harvard.edu    617-432-3093   

Joey Mattingly University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science

jmattingly@rx.umaryland.edu   410-706-8068

Eugene Rich Mathematica Policy Research, Senior Fellow

erich@mathematica-mpr.com   202-250-3544

Morgan H. Romine Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy, Policy Fellow in Strategic Engagement

morgan.romine@duke.edu   202-621-2815

Sean Tunis Center for Medical Technology Policy, Founder and Senior Strategic Advisor

Sean.tunis@cmtpnet.org   410-547-2687  

 

Government

Arlene Bierman Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Director, Center for Evidence and Practice Improvement 

arlene.bierman@ahrq.hhs.gov   301-427-1500

Carolyn Clancy Department of Veterans Affairs, Deputy Undersecretary for Health, Discovery, Education and Affiliated Networks

carolyn.clancy@va.gov   202-461-9121

Michael Lauer National Institutes of Health, Deputy Director for Extramural Research

Michael.lauer@nih.gov   301-496-1096

Janet Woodcock

 

Food and Drug Administration, Director of the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

Janet.Woodcock@fda.hhs.gov   301-797-3200

 

Stakeholders

Andrew Barnhill GlaxoSmithKline, Director of Federal Policy and HHS Strategy

andrew.t.barnhill@gsk.com

Sarah Emond Institute for Clinical and Economic Review, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

semond@icer-review.org   617-528-4013

Lisa Fisher UAW Retiree Medical Benefits Trust, Director of Strategic Planning

lfisher@rhac.com   313-324-5868

James Gelfand The ERISA Industry Committee, Senior Vice President of Health Policy

jgelfand@eric.org   202-627-1922

Greg Gierer America’s Health Insurance Plans, Senior Vice President of Policy

ggierer@ahip.org   202-778-3200

Jennifer Graff National Pharmaceutical Council, Vice President of Comparative
Effectiveness Research
jgraff@npcnow.org
Andrew Hu Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute , Director of Public Policy and Government Relations

ahu@pcori.org   202-370-9439

Jennifer Jones Blue Cross Blue Shield Association, Legislative and Regulatory Policy Director

jennifer.jones@bcbsa.com

Chip Kahn Federation of American Hospitals, President and Chief Executive Officer

ckahn@fah.org   202-624-1534

R. Shawn Martin American Academy of Family Physicians, Senior Vice President of Advocacy, Practice Advancement and Policy

smartin@aafp.org   202-232-9033  

Amy M. Miller Society for Women’s Health Research, Chief Executive Officer

amiller@swhr.org   202-223-8224

Eleanor Perfetto

 

National Health Council, Senior Vice President of Strategic Initiatives

eperfetto@nhcouncil.org   202-785-3910

Sue Peschin Alliance for Aging Research, President and Chief Executive Officer speschin@agingresearch.org   202-293-2856