Options for Lowering Costs for the Privately Insured

Speakers 

Fred Bentley, MPP, MPH  
Avalere Health, Managing Director
FBentley@avalere.com  

John Holahan, Ph.D.
Urban Institute, Institute Fellow
jholahan@urban.org

Avik Roy
Foundation for Research on Equal Opportunity, President
aroy@freopp.org

Emily Stewart
Community Catalyst, Executive Director 
estewart@communitycatalyst.org  


Experts and Analysts  

James Capretta, MPP
American Enterprise Institute (AEI), Resident Fellow and Milton Friedman Chair
jcapretta@aei.org  

Lanhee J. Chen, Ph.D., J.D.
Hoover Institution, David and Diane Steffy Research Fellow
lanhee.chen@stanford.edu 

Mark Peterson, Ph.D.
The University of California, Los Angeles, Professor of Public PolicyPolitical Science, and Law, Luskin School for Public Affairs
markap@ucla.edu 

Lauren Crawford Shaver
Forbes Tate Partners, Partner
lcrawford@forbes-tate.com 

Cori Uccello, MAAA, FSA, MPP
American Academy of Actuaries, Senior Health Fellow
uccello@actuary.org   


Government 

Jennifer Boulanger, MPP
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Office of Legislation, Deputy Director 
Jennifer.boulanger@cms.hhs.gov    

 John Dicken 
Government Accountability Office, Director of Health Care
dickenj@gao.gov 

Jeff Grant, MPA
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Acting Deputy Administrator & Director and Deputy Director, 
Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight 
jeffrey.grant1@cms.hhs.gov 

Arielle Woronoff 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Office of Legislation, Director 
Arielle.woronoff@cms.hhs.gov  


Stakeholders 

Elizabeth Carpenter 
Avalere Health, Head of Advisory Services
ecarpenter@avalere.com 

Allison Hamblin, MSPH 
Center for Health Care Strategies, President and CEO
ahamblin@chcs.org 

Claudia A. Salzberg, Ph.D.
American Hospital Federation, Vice President, Quality
csalzberg@fah.org  

Lori Shoaf, J.D.
Blue Cross Blue Shield Association, Executive Director, Political and External Affairs
Lori.Shoaf@bcbsa.com 

Joel White 
Council for Affordable Health Coverage, President
Joel.white@cahc.net