What’s Next for Medicare Provider Payments?

Mark Miller is the executive director of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC), a nonpartisan federal agency that advises the U.S. Congress on Medicare payment, quality, and access issues. Dr. Miller has held several policy, research, and management positions in health care. He served as Assistant Director of Health and Human Resources (HHR) at the Congressional Budget Office (CBO). Prior to CBO, Dr. Miller was the Deputy Director of Health Plans at the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Before CMS, Dr. Miller was the Health Financing Branch Chief at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). Prior to joining OMB, Dr. Miller was a Senior Research Associate at the Urban Institute.

Elizabeth Mitchell serves as president & CEO of the Network for Regional Healthcare Improvement, a national network of multi-stakeholder Regional Health Improvement Collaboratives with over 30 members across the US. She is the Vice Chair of the Physician Focused Payment Technical Advisory Committee, a Guiding Committee Member of the Health Care Payment Learning and Action Network (LAN), a member of the Commonwealth Fund Advisory Group, and on the Quality Improvement Strategy (QIS) Technical Expert Panel (TEP). Prior to leading NRHI, Elizabeth was the CEO of the Maine Health Management Coalition. Elizabeth served on the Board and Executive Committee of the National Quality Forum (NQF) and was appointed to the Coordinating Committee of the Measures Application Partnership. She was a member of the Institute of Medicine’s Consensus Committee on Core Metrics for Better Care and Lower Costs, and chaired this committee’s Implementation Task Force. She served for several years on the Board of the National Business Coalition on Health and was the Chair of its Government Affairs Committee, and Vice-Chair and Chair of the Board of NRHI. Prior to being appointed CEO of the Maine Health Management Coalition, Elizabeth worked for MaineHealth, Maine’s largest integrated health system. She served two terms representing Portland in the Maine State Legislature, and chaired the Health and Human Services Committee. Elizabeth has held posts at the National Academy for State Health Policy, and London’s Nuffield Trust.  Elizabeth was selected for an Atlantic Fellowship in Public Policy by the Commonwealth Fund and the British Council. While in the UK, she completed the International Health Leadership Program at Cambridge University’s Judge School of Management, while pursuing graduate studies at the London School of Economics.

Len M. Nichols is the director of the Center for Health Policy Research and Ethics (CHPRE) and a professor of Health Policy at George Mason University.  He has been intimately involved in health reform debates for 20+ years, after serving as Senior Advisor for Health Policy at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) in the Clinton Administration.   After OMB, Len was a Principle Research Associate at the Urban Institute, Vice President of the Center for Studying Health System Change, and Director of the Health Policy Program at the New America Foundation.  Before OMB, Len was Economics Department Chair at Wellesley College and a Visiting Public Health Fellow at HHS.  On the Board of the National Committee for Quality Assurance, in 2015 Len was appointed to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC), created by MACRA to advise the Secretary of HHS. His Economics Ph.D. is from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

Aucha Prachanronarong has been with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) since 2000, where she has worked in a number of areas.  Currently, Aucha is the director of the Division of Electronic and Clinician Quality within the Center for Clinical Standards and Quality.  The Division of Electronic and Clinician Quality is responsible for a number of CMS initiatives to measure and report on clinician performance, including, the Physician Quality Reporting System, the Physician Compare Web site, and the Merit-based Incentive Payment System.

Gregory Woods is the director of the Division of Alternative Payment Model Infrastructure at the CMS Innovation Center, which has responsibility for the alternative payment model provisions of MACRA. Previously, he led the Innovation Center’s health plan work, including the development of the Medicare Advantage Value-Based Insurance Design (VBID) and Part D Enhanced Medication Therapy Management models.  Prior to joining the Innovation Center, Gregory worked for the Assistant Secretary for Financial Resources at the Department of Health and Human Services, where he focused on Medicare policy and budget issues.  He has also previously worked for a health policy consulting firm and for a non-profit focused on behavioral health policy. Gregory has a Master’s degree in Public Affairs from Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School, and received his undergraduate degree from Columbia University.


Sarah Dash is president and CEO of the Alliance for Health Policy. Previously, Ms. Dash was a member of the research faculty at the Georgetown University Health Policy Institute in the Center on Health Insurance Reforms and served as a senior health policy aide on Capitol Hill. She received her master’s degree in public health from Yale University and a bachelor of science from MIT.